Missions

The missions of the CN D, an institution that exists to serve professionals and the public, revolve around three main objectives: assisting and training professional dancers, conserving and disseminating the dance heritage, and supporting the creation of new choreographies.

Assisting and training professional dancers: preparing teaching diplomas, continuing education for dancers (more than 2,000 trainees each year), assisting professionals throughout their careers (career advice, changing professions, legal advice, etc.).

Conserving and disseminating the dance heritage with a view to developing the culture of dance is achieved through artistic and cultural education programmes, exhibitions and publications programmes, the Cinémathèque de la Dance, which ensures the conservation, promotion and production of films, and a specialised mediatheque, unique in the world, housing nearly 100 archive collections of artists and other figures from dance with nearly 90,000 documents.

Supporting the creation of new choreographies, through the free provision of studios for dance companies and support for performances that are open to professionals and the general public.

Source: website of the Ministère de la Culture

 

Associate artists

Five artists are now associates of the CN D. They have access to spaces, resources and assistance in order to bring to fruition their creative projects. They accompany the CN D in every sphere of its activities: publications, training, artistic and cultural education, programming.
 

Publications

Artistic creation and heritage, research and education, publication of key works and transmission of knowledge. Through various series and nearly 60 works either published or forthcoming, the publications department of the Centre National de la Danse attempts to shed light on little-known careers, important figures and aspects of the art of choreography. It also makes reference books available and enables the CN D’s to extend its activities in the fields of dance culture and training in book form. 
 

Artistic and cultural education

The CN D’s Pôle Ressources (resource centre) for outreach and artistic and cultural education in dance works simultaneously at a local and national level. The artistic and cultural education centre brings together different approaches and experiments with a wide range of practices, creating spaces for coming people to come together and exchange ideas.
 

Training and education

Aimed at professionals, regular training for dancers is available in two forms: a technical course in the morning and workshops / master classes scattered throughout the season. These workshops provide a chance to discover a style, explore an approach or creative process, or an artist’s unique world.
 

Mediatheque and collections

The CN D’s mediatheque offers a wide range of multilingual resources devoted to the art of choreography and dance techniques and practices. It is aimed at amateur and dance enthusiasts, as well as researchers and professionals.

 

Nouvelle cinémathèque de la danse

The new dance film library organises programmes to request for partners in France and abroad, ranging from complete films to special montages of extracts that can be adapted to all programmes. Numerous theatres, choreography centres, festivals, cinemas and cultural centres around the world are showing images from the CN D’s collections this year, either as a one-off event, or linked to a programme, or as part of a more regular collaboration.

 

Research and choreographic directories

The CN D supports and accompanies research into dance, creating resources, helping PhD students, researchers and notators create networks, knowledge about and making use of choreographic directories.


Residencies for creation, experimentation and research, laboratory

Throughout the year, the CN D offers dance companies residencies for creation, experimentation and research. This programme provides special access to the CN D’s studios and its various activities and resources (mediatheque, professional resources, invitation to regular training training, networking). Some residencies qualify for production support and/or the use of the CN D’s studios. Projects are selected by a residency committee that meets twice in every season.

Date for submission for the October residency committee is 1.09.2017 to 1.04.2018 for the May 2018 committee.


Professional Resources

The Professional Resources are evolving to reflect changes in the dance sector. A new co-working space has been created, together with activities and services aimed at providing information on how the sector is organised and financed, jobs, professions and careers, as well as the law as it pertains to dance and health. The CN D offers expert staff, work spaces, opportunities to meet and exchange, a variety of tools and, more broadly, a network of partners across the region, country and world.

Missions

Établissement au service des professionnels et du public, le CN D a pour missions l’accompagnement et la formation des danseurs professionnels, la conservation et la diffusion du patrimoine chorégraphique, le soutien à la création d’œuvres chorégraphiques.

L’accompagnement et la formation des danseurs professionnels : préparation aux diplômes d’enseignement, formation permanente et continue des artistes interprètes (plus de 2 000 stagiaires chaque année), services aux professionnels tout au long de leur carrière (orientation, reconversion, conseil juridique, etc.).

La conservation et la diffusion du patrimoine chorégraphique en vue du développement de la culture chorégraphique avec des programmes d’éducation artistique et culturelle, une politique d'expositions et de publications autour de la Nouvelle cinémathèque de la danse qui assure la conservation, la mise en valeur et la réalisation de documents filmés et d’une médiathèque spécialisée, unique au monde, hébergeant près de 100 fonds d’archives d’artistes et de personnalités pour près de 90 000 références.

Le soutien à la création d'œuvres chorégraphiques, avec la mise à disposition gratuite de studios pour les compagnies de danse et le soutien à la diffusion avec des spectacles ouverts aux professionnels mais aussi au grand public.

Source : site internet du ministère de la Culture



Artistes associés

Six artistes sont désormais associés au CN D. Ils y trouvent des espaces, des moyens et un accompagnement pour mener à bien leurs projets de créations et accompagnent le CN D à tous les niveaux de son action : éditions, formations, éducation artistique et culturelle, programmation.


Éditions

Création artistique et patrimoine, recherche et pédagogie, production de repères et transmission de savoirs... À travers différentes collections et près de soixante titres parus ou à paraître, les éditions du Centre national de la danse s’attachent à donner une visibilité à des parcours, des personnalités, des domaines de l’art chorégraphique peu évoqués, à rendre accessibles des ouvrages de référence et à prolonger par le livre certaines activités du CN D en matière de culture chorégraphique ou de formation.
 

Éducation artistique et culturelle

Pôle ressources pour la médiation et l’éducation artistique et culturelle en danse, le CN D œuvre simultanément au plan local et national. Le pôle Éducation artistique et culturelle croise les esthétiques et expérimente la diversité des pratiques, crée des espaces de rencontres et des moments d’échanges.
 

Formation et pédagogie

À destination des danseurs professionnels, l’Entraînement régulier du danseur se décline en deux types de propositions : un cours technique le matin et des workshops / master classes répartis tout au long de la saison. Ces workshops permettent de rencontrer une esthétique, de creuser une démarche, un processus de création, un univers propre à un artiste.
 

Médiathèque et collections

La Médiathèque du CN D propose de larges ressources multilingues consacrées à l’art chorégraphique et aux techniques et pratiques de danse, à l’intention des amateurs, passionnés de danse comme des chercheurs et professionnels.
 

Nouvelle cinémathèque de la danse

La Nouvelle cinémathèque de la danse élabore des programmes à la demande, pour des partenaires en France et à l’étranger, afin de présenter des films en durée intégrale ou des montages spécifiques qui s’adaptent à toutes les programmations. De nombreux théâtres, centres chorégraphiques, festivals, cinémas, centres culturels du monde entier montrent cette année des images issues des fonds du CN D, de manière ponctuelle, liée à une programmation, ou dans le cadre d’une collaboration plus régulière.
 

Recherche et Répertoires chorégraphiques

Le CN D soutient et accompagne la recherche en danse, la constitution de ressources, la mise en réseau de doctorants, de chercheurs, de notateurs, la connaissance et l’activation des répertoires chorégraphiques.


Résidence de création, expérimentation et recherche, laboratoire

Tout au long de l’année, le CN D accueille des compagnies dans le cadre de résidences de création, expérimentation et recherche. Ce dispositif permet un accès privilégié aux studios ainsi qu’aux différentes activités et ressources du CN D (Médiathèque, ressources professionnelles, invitation à l’entraînement régulier du danseur, mise en réseau). Certaines résidences peuvent bénéficier d’un apport en coproduction et/ou d’une ouverture studio à destination du réseau professionnel. Les projets accueillis sont sélectionnés par un comité de résidence se réunissant deux fois par saison. Le délai d’envoi pour le comité de résidence d’octobre est fixé au 1.09.2017 et au 1.04.2018 pour le comité de mai 2018.


Ressources professionnelles

Les Ressources professionnelles évoluent pour se placer au plus près des mutations que connaît le secteur chorégraphique. Avec l’installation d’un espace de coworking, activités et services se redéploient pour informer sur l’organisation et l’économie du secteur, l’emploi, les métiers et les carrières, le droit appliqué à la danse et la santé. Le CN D met au profit de la communauté de professionnels du secteur chorégraphique l’expertise de son équipe, des espaces de travail, des temps de rencontres et d‘échanges, des outils et plus largement ses réseaux de partenaires à l’échelle territoriale, nationale et internationale.