Research

Session #4

Efficient Gestures

Israel Galván, La Fiesta © Christophe Raynaud de Lage
Israel Galván, La Fiesta © Christophe Raynaud de Lage

02.10.21 — 11:00

CN D Pantin
Tickets

11:00 — 1h.
Mythologies of Ritual according to Israel Galván

by Corinne Frayssinet-Savy (France)

Israel Galván’s flamenco dance explores the mythologies of flamenco. Ever since his first creation – ¡Mira! Los zapatos rojos (1998) – Israel Galván has created situations and processes where the flamenco dancer is tested in his dance practice. With his soli, Galván invented a dance which performs an imaginary ritual for which he is only the vessel. In these pieces, he leads a reflection on dance as a ritual, a game of codifying, which is one of the first elements defining rituals according to Pouillaude (2014). The radical exposition of ritual underpins his first shows: in La Fiesta, the dance discourse revolves around the singularity of actions, incantatory polyvocality, repetitions of gestures, and sound polysemy. The mythologies of ritual in El Amor brujo unfold as a diptych, a mirror for the inside and outside, the seen and the unseen, the said and the unsaid. La Consagración de la primavera re-evaluates the fantasized or sacrificial ritual against the primary driving force of rhythm (Schirren, 2011).


11:30 — 1h.
Marking Time: Rehearsals, Tours, Performances

by Laura Fanouillet (France) et Martin Givors (France)

What do the notions of rite and ritual reveal about the life trajectory of a dancer? Perhaps, above all, the rhythms and cycles that contribute to the formation and ongoing maturation of his or her physicality. Rehearsals, tours, performances designate three inflections during which the gestures are recalled to the body and, inexorably, leave an imprint, as much as they reveal, in their return, the present state of the living body that calls them. Through each of them appears a singular way of marking time and turning on oneself, of "performing" gestures whose value would be at the same time technical, symbolic and ontogenetic. In order to develop this reflection, two field surveys at the crossroads of our two research paths will be solicited: one conducted with the butoh dancer Imre Thormann in the daily life of his house and the other with the acrobatic dancer Dimitri Jourde during the tour of Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui's show Fractus V.

 

12:30 — 30 min.
Gestures of care: from routine to performing rituals

by Léa Andréoléty (France)

Gestures of care, as they are taught in nursing schools, are constructed as a series of normative technical acts inscribed in teaching methods which are disconnected from the patient’s experience of their body. Notions like touch or gestures are considered as corporal techniques, detached from their sensory and symbolic meanings. Considering gestures of care as a sensory, symbolic and collective per- formance allows us to endow them with a ritual dimension. I will therefore question the way the notion of ritual can allow us to become aware of the routine around gestures of care. I propose to study how Contact Improvisation and Feldenkrais techniques can become tools for nursing trainees to develop their awareness of the sensory and symbolic aspects of touch, and can trigger a realization of the full meaning of the gestures of care, in order to get to a process of building partitions and performative rituals.

Program
of the International
Symposium Dances and Rituals

Recherche

Session #4

Gestes efficaces

Israel Galván, La Fiesta © Christophe Raynaud de Lage
Israel Galván, La Fiesta © Christophe Raynaud de Lage

02.10.21 — 11:00

CN D Pantin

11:00 — 1h.
Les mythologies du rituel selon Israel Galván

par Corinne Frayssinet-Savy (France)

La danse flamenca d’Israel Galván décline les mythologies du flamenco. Dès sa première création ¡Mira! Los zapatos rojos (1998), Israel Galván crée situations et dispositifs où il met à l’épreuve le danseur flamenco aux prises avec sa danse. Avec ses solos, il invente une danse officiant un rituel imaginaire dont il n’est que l’intercesseur. Il y interroge la danse comme une action rituelle, efficience de la codification en jeu, première détermination du rituel au sens de Pouillaude (2014). La mise à nu radicale du rituel habite ses derniers spectacles. Le propos se resserre sur la singularité des actions, la polyvocalité incantatoire, la répétition du geste, la polysémie sonore dans La Fiesta. Les mythologies du rituel dans El Amor brujo se pensent en diptyque, miroir du dedans et du dehors, du visible et de l’invisible, du dicible et de l’indicible. La Consagración de la primavera réévalue le rite fantasmé ou sacrificiel à l’aune du rythme, moteur primordial (Schirren, 2011).


11:30 — 1h.
Marquer le temps : entraînements, tournées, numéros

par Laura Fanouillet (France) et Martin Givors (France)

Qu’est-ce que les notions de rite et de rituel révèlent de la trajectoire de vie d’un danseur ? Peut-être, avant tout, les rythmes et les cycles qui concourent à la formation et à la maturation continuent de sa corporéité. Entraînements, tournées et numéros désignent trois temps au cours desquels les gestes se rappellent au corps et, inexorablement, y laissent une empreinte, tout autant qu’ils révèlent, dans leur retour, l’état présent du corps vivant et vécu qui les appelle. Afin de déployer cette réflexion, trois cas d’étude à la croisée de nos deux parcours de chercheurs seront sollicités : l’entraînement du danseur de butô Imre Thormann, la tournée du spectacle Fractus V du chorégraphe Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, le numéro des Fugues de l’artiste de cirque Yoann Bourgeois. À travers chacune de ces trois ritualités apparaîtra une manière singulière de marquer le temps et de tourner sur soi, de « performer » des gestes dont la valeur serait à la fois technique, symbolique et ontogénétique.


12:30 — 30 min.
Les gestes du soin : de la routine vers la performance des rituels

par Léa Andréoléty (France)

Le geste soignant, tel qu’enseigné en formation en soins infirmiers, est construit comme une série de techniques normées et incorporées par des méthodes d’apprentissages distanciées de l’expérience du corps. Les notions de toucher et de geste sont considérées comme techniques corporelles, extirpées de leurs significations sensibles et symboliques. Appréhender le geste de soin comme performé, sensible, symbolique et collectif, permet de lui conférer une dimension rituelle. Je questionnerai ainsi la façon dont la notion de rituel peut permettre une prise de conscience de la routine qui entoure les gestes de soins. Je propose d’étudier com- ment le Contact Improvisation et la méthode Feldenkrais peuvent accompagner les étudiantes et étudiants en soins infirmiers à prendre conscience des dimensions sensibles et symboliques du toucher, et peuvent développer une prise de conscience des routines des gestes de soin, pour aller vers une construction de partitions et rituels performatifs.